SL 11/18 Spaces and role playing

[Contextual note:  For the introduction to this blog’s switch to musings about Second Life for a while, see Virtual Adjustments from 3/16.]

Working on developing our space is quite fun. Building reminds me (again) of The Sims. Not quite as simple, that’s for sure.  I’m using objects as 10×10 platforms to measure.  I should probably just do that math with the coords, but I haven’t quite figured that out yet.

In my wanderings – and shopping (shopping as educational tool… there’s a paper in that somewhere for someone) – I encountered a Role Playing Sim that’s Old West, with beasties. There’s a whole HUD system that tracks experience points, health and stamina, and allows combat with weapons like guns and axes. You log on to a website (accessed in game) and create a character for that zone. The HUD system works anywhere, but you need an active character, so it requires setting one up specifically.

This sim (as they’re called – for “simulation”, presumably) is largely for role playing, and still in development, as opposed to ones with more specific activities going on, I think. It’s a pre-made HUD system, free I think, that folks can use to set such places up easily. It took quite some doing to get myself using it, though. Required opening several boxes, wearing things, logging in, setting up a character, and then re-setting the HUD. On the plus side, I now have 60 experience points and might hit level two if I stick around long enough.

The few other people here (only 4 others so far) are talking a tiny bit – I *think* the conversation is all in chat, since they seem to be using it for the role play, but they’re saying and doing so little, that I wonder if they’re also using private voice chat. But…. doens’t really seem like it. Who knows. Voice is enabled here, but they’re not using public chat, that’s for sure.

There are specific role playing chat conventions that folks use. The use emotes (akin to those in WoW, but the damn text is the same color as chat) by typing /me then descriptions of their actions and words. As it was explained to me when I arrived, you use the emotes as though you’re writing a book. So, something like, “Belladonna Kamala shrugs and says, “Who knows?” you use the quotes to describe how you speak, and the regular text conversation when having a non-annotated conversation, as it were. So when people want to laugh, or say something with a specific feeling, they use the emotes. It’s interesting, no doubt.

So in many ways, this role playing is much like collaborative story-telling.  So far they’re just kind of exchanging little things, no real story unfolding, and they’re kind of ignoring me (once they set me up). Not that I’m saying much either, but still. Whatever the case, this space is more and more interesting every day.

Leave a Reply

