First steps of a new role

xanRPI have nothing to report.

Except that Night Elves have cool face markings.

In so many ways, WoW is really a very lonely game. Sure, when you join a guild with chatting folks, or when you develop – or bring – close friends you can go there and chat, laugh, play. But start a new character on a new server, and it’s an empty place. No conversation, or even players, around you. No one comes up to you to say ‘hi,’ no one turns to look at you as you enter. You don’t see the social happening… somewhere; you certainly don’t participate in anything social when you arrive.

I remember when I first started playing it was this feeling of WoW as so empty that first struck me. My only real comparison was The Sims Online, where you enter a ‘house’ and almost all conversation is public within that house. It’s like walking into a party. Even if you don’t talk to anyone, other people are talking to each other. You feel present with others.

WoW almost feels like a console one-player game at first. But you know other people are playing, they’re just not playing with you. So it can feel kind of like the kid at the edge of the playground, except you can’t even hear the other kids laughing.

Going into the Role Playing server tonight was bleak. I chose a “Full” server, hoping that there would at least be a few folks around the starting areas, but there was no one. Well, there was one level 72 riding through, but otherwise…. only NPCs.

I could have gone into the city nearby, of course, and there might have been some folks wandering around. (Although, from what I understand, the Night Elf city is usually pretty empty anyway. I know that Exodar has been basically deserted every time I’ve been there with my Drenaei.) At least I would have heard some chatter on the Trade channel, I imagine.

But still. Lonely.

It’s a big game. You really do need your friends there to keep you warm.

5 responses to “First steps of a new role

  1. From what I hear – there’s never anybody around the starting areas on RP servers. As you, suggest, striking out for a city (Stormwind ideally) will help – otherwise you can just wait until you grow and hope to meet some folks.

  2. That’s kind of funny. Within minutes of starting my Tauren, I had someone whisper me if I could run them to, oh, I can’t even remember where it was. I had to reply that this was my first horde and I was completely lost.

    I also ran into three or four people doing the starter quests that kept sending me invites to the group, which I promptly declined. Random invites, bleh. However I did team up with one girl because she whispered me where a particular NPC was, which I had just killed a few minutes ago. I led her to it, helped with the kill, then bowed my way out of the group as quickly as I could.

    I’ll trade you!

  3. Yes please! Or I’ll hire you to be my toon-candy. They seem to like you : )

  4. The old bait and switch!

    I don’ t know. What you may consider minimal interaction, I likely consider too much interaction. All of those things happened over a five hour period, so it really wasn’t that busy.

  5. A Full server may not be the best option. If you think about where new people are going to start its going to be where the game directs them, usually a low pop server. It helps actually to go there if you are LOOKING for low level interaction. There will be low level people running around, many starting for the first time.

    This may actually mean that you have to go in search of people and dig deep for those interactions. The who tab in the social area is always a great way to track people your level and region.

Leave a Reply

