Guild Allegiances

I’m still strongly considering quitting the guild. The reasons are many, not the least of which are interpersonal.

However…. Wat. (nee Lloyd) cautioned me that leaving a guild like ours is harder than it seems. I, in my infinite wisdom, shrugged off such caution…. until today.

I took at look at the Facebook group created for SAPS, and suddenly got sad. After nearly a year’s worth of investment in this group, to consider leaving is actually very difficult. The FB group represents SAPS’s full range of people, including many who do not play with us much at all anymore. In fact, in the past few weeks, the guild has been essentially, Wat., D., J., newbie Livre, and me, with some background presence by I. and O.

We aren’t really coherent right now, and we certainly aren’t connecting. I want to get the experience of being in a different kind of guild, among other things, and so I have plenty of good, academic reasons to leave.

But.

These social allegiances I have build are actually more compelling than I realised. The game has always been largely social for me, and so it makes sense that social issues would prompt me to consider leaving. So, too, do such allegiances make that, indeed, harder than I thought it would be.

Leave a Reply

